Happy New Year-Be excited for the unknown

Standard

Since I am in Las Vegas for the new year visiting my boyfriend for a few weeks, I have been doing Yoga via a pod cast from Elsie Escobar. The link to her site is located over in my blogroll. Please take a look, it’s a good site.

This morning, on the last day of 2011, I decided on a 1 hour level 1-2 class called Learners will Inherit the Earth. I chose it because it was a 1 hour class instead of a 90 minuet class and a level 1-2. The theme of the class, however, really got me to think about entering the new year with an open mind and be willing to learn. Now this might seem like a normal thought for most of you, but if you know me you know I need to have everything in order. I want to know where I am going to be 4 years from now, who I am going to be with, how may kids I am going to have, where I will be living etc. And when I don’t I stress the heck out. (It’s and interesting point to mention my boyfriend is just a fly by the seat of his pants kinda guy…).

Elise starts each of her classes with a theme (a quote or article etc) and this one was actually an amazing message for New Years eve even though it was published in the middle of the summer almost 4 years ago.

______________

“In times of change, learners inherit the earth while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists.” – Eric Hoffer

We are never done learning. Once we stop learning we shut out the world and new ideas and the progression of life. The world around us is constantly changing and we need to embrace the changes around us to live in the current world. The world today is not the same as the world we were in yesterday.

So as we enter the new year, 2012, I invite everyone to keep an open mind with me and just embrace the unknown; don’t be afraid of what is to come but be excited for each moment and do not stress over what you do not know about the future. It’s like unwrapping a new present every day; a new surprise and a new direction for your life.

Happy New Year.

Namaste!

-Jess

About quarter life crisis

I am a 20something trying to find her way in the world. I have been living and working in Philadelphia for the past three years after my parents moved away and I graduated school. Time is up for this place and I will be starting a brand new life and adventure in a small town in VA as I go through a quarter life crisis. I will be attending pharmacy school full time and trying to find myself in the process. Up until now I have been a worrier and a nervous nelly. That needs to stop its- getting in the way of living. So follow me through this very vulnerable time and ill show you what life if is like for the modern 20something female. Cheers to new adventures!

Leave a Reply

